The service can be used to manage users' documents, such as work contracts and performance review documents. A file can be in, for example, PDF, Excel or Word format.
Documents are added for each person under the Documents found in the person's details. In this article, we describe how to add documents and manage document folders.
Adding documents for a person
Documents can be added to a person's details in the Employees section, on the Documents tab of the person's details. Here you can see all the folders available in the service by default, as well as any other folders that have been added. Documents are always added to a folder.
Managing document folders
Default folders
By default, the service has three folders: Work contracts, Payslips and Other files.
The work contracts and Payslips folders are essential when using some of the service's features (described below), so these folders should not be deleted. However, a deleted folder can be restored if necessary.
- Work contracts - Required when using the Online work contracts feature. This folder is used to archive online work contracts created through the feature. The folder can also be used to store work contracts created in other ways.
- Payslips - Required when using Nepton Payroll. The folder can also be used to store payroll documents created in other ways.
- Other files - A folder intended for general use.
Adding, deleting and editing folders
Different file folders can be added to the service. A file folder can be added in Employees > Administration > Document folders.
To add a new folder, select Add folder. Enter the folder name and, if desired, a description and type, and define which roles have permission to read, edit or delete the folder.
The type determines whether the folder is available for other features in the service (see the descriptions of the default folders above), and which file formats can be stored in the folder in question.
Save the new folder by selecting Save.
To delete a folder, select the X symbol on the row of the desired folder. After the folder has been deleted, the folder and the information stored in it will not be visible to anyone. The folder can be restored by selecting Show deleted document folders.
To edit a folder, select the pencil icon on the row of the desired folder. You can edit the folder's name, description, type and permissions.
Note: We do not recommend changing the folder type after the folder has been created.
Changing the order of folders
To change the order of the folders, select the arrow icon on the right-hand side. Clicking up or down moves the folder in the desired direction.
Visibility of documents and document folders
Documents are user-specific. Document folders are visible to all persons who have the required role to view the folder.
Document permissions
Access to files is restricted to persons with sufficient permissions. Permissions are determined by the user's role and the permissions for the document folder. This article explains how permissions are applied.
- If a document is not associated with any user, access is based solely on the document folder's read permission granted to the user role.
- Work contracts that are not associated with any user can only be read by administrators, HR and payroll.
- The roles mentioned below do not have access to their own files if read permission for the Employee role has not been defined for the document folder.
Permissions by role
The list below shows which documents in a folder the different roles can access, provided that the folder has read permission defined for the corresponding role.
- Administrator, HR and payroll - All documents, regardless of the users associated with them.
- Unit manager - All documents belonging to people in the same unit.
- Manager - All documents belonging to their subordinates.
- Employee - All their own documents.